Higher Certificate in Information Systems (Cloud Computing)

Qualification duration

Mastery Learning Methodology (MLM) Route

Minimum: 1 year full time

Maximum: 2 ½ years part time

Lecture-Based Learning (LBL) Route

Minimum: 1 year full time

Qualification start date

For MLM path, students can start any day of the month in January until February. Thereafter, from March to December only on the first Monday of each month. For the LBL path, students start lectures on the first Monday of February (first intake). Thereafter, second intake starts on the last Monday of March and the mid-year intake starts on the second Monday of July.

Qualification description

The fourth industrial revolution also referred to as industry 4.0 is a new phase in the industrial revolution that also focuses heavily on Cloud Computing. It is a general term for anything that involves delivering hosted services over the internet. Cloud Computing is a type of computing that relies on shared computing resources rather than having local servers or personal devices to handle applications.

The Higher Certificate in Information Systems (Cloud Computing) is a career-focused qualification that is intensive but also broad. It provides you with the fundamental and technical knowledge as well as the applicable skill set in Computer Hardware, Networking Technologies, IT Virtualization, Security, Cloud Concepts, Amazon Web Services ( AWS) Core Services, AWS Security, AWS Architecting, and AWS Technical Support Plans and Costs.

Entry requirements

  • National Senior Certificate (NSC) with diploma or Higher Certificateentry or an equivalent foreign secondary qualification or internationalschool-leaving certificate on an NSC level (NQF 4) confirmed by S AQA.


  • National Certificate (Vocational) level four issued by the Council ofGeneral, Further Education, and Training.


  • You must have obtained the required results in the Placement Assessment.

Qualification structure

  • A+ Preparation
  • AWS Architecting and Support
  • AWS Core Services
  • AWS Security
  • Computer Literacy
  • Introduction to IT Virtualization
  • Network+ Preparation
  • Personal Skills Development
  • Security+ Preparation

Qualification accreditation

  • Higher Education Quality Committee (HEQC) of the Council on Hig herEducation (CHE)
  • South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA)

Possible career options

The career choices for you as a Higher Certificate in Informatio n Systems(Cloud Computing) graduate include junior positions in:

  • A+ Preparation
  • Support Specialist, Desktop Support Analyst
  • Help Desk Technician, Computer Technician
  • Network+ Preparation
  • Network Administration, Network Analyst
  • Network Support Specialist
  • Systems Administrator
  • Security+ Preparation
  • IT Auditor, Security Specialist
  • Security Engineer, Security Administrator
  • AWS Core Services, Cloud Systems Administration
  • Cloud Network Administration, AWS Security
  • AWS Architecting, AWS Technical Support Planning