Higher Certificate in Information Systems (Cyber Security)

Qualification duration

Mastery Learning Methodology (MLM) Route

Minimum: 1 year full time

Maximum: 2 ½ years part time

Lecture-Based Learning (LBL) Route

Minimum: 1 year full time

Qualification start date

For MLM path, students can start any day of the month in January until February. Thereafter, from March to December only on the first Monday of each month. For the LBL path, students start lectures on the first Monday of February (first intake). Thereafter, second intake starts on the last Monday of March and the mid-year intake starts on the second Monday of July.

Qualification description

The fourth industrial revolution also referred to as industry 4.0 is a new phase in the industrial revolution that also focuses heavily on Cyber Security. Information technology security (also known as Cyber Security) is the protection of computer systems, networks, programs and data from unauthorized access or attacks that are aimed for exploitation. It also includes activities to protect the usability, reliability, integrity and safety of the network. The Higher Certificate in Information Systems (Cyber Security) is a careerfocused qualification that is intensive but also broad. It provides you with the fundamental and technical knowledge as well as the applicable skill set in Computer Hardware, Networking Technologies, Security, Penetration Testing, Cyber Security Analysis and Advanced Security Practices.

The Higher Certificate in Information Systems (Engineering) provides you with solid theoretical and intensive practical foundation of one programming language and one database language, where the emphasis is on application. You will develop a balance of software and hardware knowledge as well as extensive technical experience. The core subject areas are Programming Language, Network+, Security+. You also cover topics such as general Computer Literacy, Processing and Logic. Throughout the qualification you will complete technical projects so that you are able to troubleshoot hardware problems.

We attribute much of the success of our Higher Certificate programmes in Information Systems (IS), to our unique Mastery Learning Methodology
(MLM). This modular self-directed learning approach, gives you the flexibility to start and progress through the programme at a pace that best suits you. This learning methodology, together with our cutting-edge facilities such as computer labs, IS open learning areas, hardware pods and smart pods, will prepare you for the real IT work environment of the future.

Over and above this, you will develop essential skills for the world of work, especially for the IT industry, such as analysing and solving real problems, logical thinking, being innovative and adaptable and communicating effectively.

On completion of the Higher Certificate in Information Systems, you can apply for a Credit Transfer (CT) or Recognition of Prior
Learning (RPL) to study towards the PI Bachelor of Science in IT degree.

Entry requirements

  • National Senior Certificate (NSC) with diploma or Higher Certificate entryor an equivalent foreign secondary qualification or international schoolleavingcertificate on an NSC level (NQF 4) confirmed by SAQA.


  • National Certificate (Vocational) level four issued by theCouncil of General, Further Education, and Training.


  • You must have obtained the required results in the Placement Assessment.

Qualification structure

  • A+ Preparation
  • Advanced Security Practices
  • Cyber Security Analysis
  • Computer Literacy
  • Network+ Preparation
  • Penetration Testing
  • Personal Skills Development
  • Security+ Preparation

Qualification accreditation

  • Higher Education Quality Committee (HEQC) of the Council on Hig herEducation (CHE)
  • South African Qualifications Authority (SAQA)

Possible career options

  • A+ Preparation
  • Support Specialist, Desktop Support Analyst
  • Help Desk Technician, Computer Technician
  • Network+ Preparation
  • Network Administration, Network Analyst
  • Network Support Specialist
  • Systems Administrator
  • Security+ Preparation
  • IT Auditor, Security Specialist
  • Security Engineer, Security Administrator
  • Penetration Testing
  • Penetration Tester, Security Analyst
  • Vulnerability Assessment Analyst
  • Network Security Operations
  • Cyber Security Analysis
  • Cyber Security Analyst, Vulnerability Analyst
  • Threat Intelligence Analyst, Security Engineer
  • IT Security Analyst, SOC Analyst
  • Advanced Security Practices
  • Security Architect, Technical Lead Analyst
  • Application Security Engineer